icky sicky 😷

Ugh…I hate being sick. I will admit I am the worst about treating myself. I never want to acknowledge it cause who has time? I keep going cause I have too much happening to stop. My schedule this month is so booked it’s really not a good time thank you very much. Pretend you’re fine & you will be fine = positive thinking power! 💡

So with all that being said I waved the white flag Monday morning. I have had a cough & sore throat since early March. It varied how bad it was, but it never went away. Everyone kept saying how terrible the pollen was & allergies so I believed it to be that. All we needed was some good rain to wash the pollen away & WAH LAH I would be better right? Yeah except it wasn’t raining either. Friday afternoon my body finally had enough & my right eye had goobers. I assumed I simply MUST have something in my eye & it couldn’t be illness. Yes the denial is THAT strong! Saturday my girls checked my eye out & declared it not pink eye (they have kids & much experience at this), but I definitely needed a doctor. So my plan was to call my doctor Monday morning from work & go from there until later Sunday rolled around & now I have ick coming out my left eye (yup both eyes are gross) so I started looking at what time Urgent Care opens in the morning. Yes a little late but hey at least I was making progress.

My weekend was all right. Friday night kickball cancelled so I went out for a belated birthday dinner celebration for a co-worker who has become a great friend. I really don’t know what I’d do without her sometimes cause we both have similar issues with our workplace & we just get along really well. She includes me for holidays since I don’t have any family here & makes sure to check on me in general. She’s just awesome. Saturday & Sunday I worked my side job so a little extra $$$. The have asked me to work a lot more weekends, but I am being selective. I don’t want to work so much I can’t do anything else. The extra money is nice for sure, but all work work work isn’t any fun so I am trying to balance. Sunday after working I went over to Jay’s & we just hung out being bums. He’s been sick too (probably from me–my bad). It was nice to just spend time together without doing much & see how it goes. He had already decided he wasn’t going in to work Monday (but he can work from home some too) when my eyes got bad & I decided I need to skip work & go to Urgent Care Monday ASAP. What a pair we are. lol

So Monday morning I am the 2nd in line & seen right away. Yay! Turns out I don’t have little kid pink eye, but it’s a strain of the flu or something that has been going around the last few weeks. It’s sort of like a sinus infection since it’s in your throat & nose & ears & coughing. I guess coming out your eyes is the real final steps. 🤧 Fabulous. So now I have drugs for 10 days & I am already feeling a ton better! Which is good cause I am puppy sitting this weekend for my 3 little cuties again & then next weekend is the Disney Star Wars 10K I signed up for waaaay last May. It’s a bucket list item for me & I am really excited! I am dressing up at BB-8 & my friend is going as R2-D2. Yeah the dressing up part is a highlight for me!

Leave a comment